Back Pain/Neck Pain/Migraine Issue Solved!

8 Oct

Well, I’m embarrassed to even write about my morning. Mainly because everything that happened was because of me, and not external forces. I called the doctor’s office at 8am to make an appointment today since my migraines have been getting worse. The first time I called, the woman who answered accidentally hung up on me. No big deal, just call back, right? But I was fuming since I had to wait another 15 minutes on hold while other people were booking appointments. I finally got in touch with someone and scheduled an appointment for 10:40am.

I went to hop in the guest shower so I wouldn’t wake up my husband (perks of being bankers–we get random holidays off!). Well, that didn’t work out so well. The shower in the guest bath was too hot, so I turned it down. Still too hot. I turned it down further, still too hot. After turning it down more it got ice-cold. I went through this several times, never getting it to a reasonable temperature. Instead of calmly turning off the shower and going to the master bath, I threw a fit. Cursing and yelling, I stomped into the master bath, waking my husband and probably everyone else in the neighborhood.

After arriving at the doctor’s office for my appointment, the receptionist started asking some suspicious questions. Finally she said, “Your appointment is Wednesday.” Uh…no, it’s today. I just lost it, and luckily for the receptionist and my reputation, that meant crying. She ended up booking an appointment for me later today with another doctor.

I cried most of the twenty-minute trip home and for about another five minutes to my husband. I’m sure, at this point, you are all thinking what’s the big deal? Well, after being in pretty much constant pain for two months, I just couldn’t take it anymore.

I dragged Nathan with me to the doctor, and I’m so glad I did. After doing an examination, the doctor could tell it was purely muscle issues, and since I’ve had x-rays, he knew there was nothing wrong with my neck or spine. He asked if I get stressed. Nathan was more than happy to answer that question, and as I’m sure you can tell from my morning, the answer is a resounding YES. The doctor said the area hurting was from tension, and it’s caused by stress. He then asked me how I handle stress, and I told him by running, which I clearly can’t do now. He suggested I try walking and keep up with yoga. The yoga is something I really need to keep at but is one of the things I drop if my day becomes busy or hectic. I feel bad getting home from work and shutting myself in a room for an hour. But if it will help reduce my pain and contribute to me being a functioning person who doesn’t get upset by the smallest things, I need to do it.

I think women often put themselves last. We get home and want to cook a good meal for our family, spend time with our husbands, and help everyone else. But if we can’t take care of ourselves, we can’t take care of our families. I think we often see it as being selfish. But how selfish is it to take an hour a day to yourself when the benefits will linger on for much longer than an hour?

So goals for this week–

-Walk at least 20 minutes in the morning with the dogs

-Do a half an hour of yoga after work

-Meditate for 10 minutes a day

This is my prescription readers, so hold me to it!

What do you do to reduce stress? Any other tips? 

Nature always calms me

2 Responses to “Back Pain/Neck Pain/Migraine Issue Solved!”

  1. Riksu November 1, 2012 at 7:11 PM #

    I know this feeling! To stay calm and in a good mood, I need to spend a lot of time outside (after long hours in the office) and do some exercise. Unfortunately, I often blame others (not out loud, just in my head) if I’m not going training, although I know I’m responsible for my own decisions.

    Although exercising helps me not to get stressed, the most helpful thing I have just learned (and still learning) is the attitude: If I feel that I’m getting stressed, I simply tell myself that there’s no reason to get worried/stressed. E.g. there’s an important work related thing that gets me nervous, maybe a bit stressed, I just tell myself that just enjoy the exciting moment and deal with it. What can be so bad that I need to be worried? Enjoy the challenging times, busy times. Do one thing at the time and most importantly: focus on the thing you’re doing and do it well. Living at the moment. And sometimes it means that some things need to wait until the next day – and rather cleaning the house than the exercise 😀

    All the best!

    • baybaybites November 1, 2012 at 7:15 PM #

      That’s great advice! Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

