Living in the moment

27 Sep

I’m not going to lie–I love Oprah. One night when my husband was out-of-town and there was nothing on TV, I stumbled upon Oprah’s Lifeclass on OWN. The lesson was with Iyanla Vanzant, and it was about relationships between women. The show was pretty eye-opening, especially a statement that Iyanla said, “Comparing yourself to others is an act of violence against oneself.” I was hooked to OWN for the rest of the weekend! Oprah also said something that weekend that stuck with me. Oprah had a dog that was constantly moving and never slowed down. One day the dog went after a ball, choked on it and died. Oprah was devastated, but she looked for the lesson from the experience—slow down or you will wear yourself to death! She said, “I believe everything happens for a reason, and we are meant to learn from it.”

I believe I saw that episode of Lifeclass for a reason. Lately I’d been comparing myself to other people, especially when it came to parenthood. It’s not like I am unable to have children, but my uterine fibriods could have an impact. This is not the right time for my husband and I to have a child; we aren’t there just yet. But in the next year we will start trying. However, I kept comparing myself to other people my age or younger raising children, having children, and getting pregnant. My head says, “That’s not fair. Why can’t I have a child now? What if I won’t be able to get pregnant”, etc. I also know everyone lives life at their own pace. But I was not connecting the two. I’ve finally come to accept that it will happen when we are ready and when the time is right. I will only hurt myself and possibly my relationships if I continue to compare myself with others.

This morning I watched a Lifeclass episode I recorded last weekend about living in the moment. How strange I should happen to pick this episode?! I had a particularly rough day at work and was thinking about things that happened in the past. This is something I tend to do quite a bit, as well as think of things I have to do in the future. I rarely live in the present! Even when I’m getting a massage or taking a run, I’m constantly checking on a mental list of things I have to do. It’s terrible. The part of the episode that especially touched me was when they brought in a mother who was burned in a plane accident over 80% of her body. She said when she was in a coma she heard a voice saying she could choose to live a difficult life or die. She chose to live. They paired her with a mom who was dissatisfied with her life and the little things. They spent the day together and she saw how much the mother with injuries struggled with opening things, not being able to hold her children, and the pain of her wounds. She said it really opened her up to appreciating every moment with her children and to be present when she spent time with them.

When I am at home tonight with my dogs and my husband, I’m going to live in the present. I’m going to appreciate them and focus on that moment. I’m not going to worry about work, having children, or the dishes on the counter. I’m going to enjoy the ones I love.

Enjoy the moment!

3 Responses to “Living in the moment”

  1. Family Visions NC Inc. September 28, 2012 at 5:05 AM #

    Reblogged this on Daniels Public Relations LLC..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crafty « Bay Bay Bites - September 28, 2012

    […] and craft. Today on my lunch break I bought a plethora of yarn for some projects. As I mentioned before, quite a few people I know are pregnant right now or just had babies. I decided to knit all the […]

  2. What is your purpose? Super Soul Sunday on OWN « Bay Bay Bites - September 30, 2012

    […] I would watch a show that always cheers me up and gets me thinking. As you k now from one of my posts last week, I’ve been slightly obsessed with Oprah lately. I’ve been DVRing her Super Soul […]

Leave a Reply

