Taco Salad

20 Sep

The day started off like most of the days in our home—Edie ate a homemade protein bar. On the advice of our vet I went home to check on her at lunch. Of course, she was perfectly fine. The vet was concerned about the bits of dark chocolate that were in the bar and the protein powder, but our little pup was napping on the couch when I came home without a care in the world.

After work today, I took the girls to our local off-leash park for a walk/run. The sun has been bright the entire month of August with no rain, and it’s carrying into September. In Washington, we have to take advantage of every minute!

Yesterday I made my Tropical Smoothie with a brand new ingredient, baby kale! I tried a smoothie at Robeks a few weeks ago that had kale and pineapple. It tasted amazing, and kale is a nutrient powerhouse.  It packs in a large amount of Vitamin K, C, & A, and also is a good source of manganese. Why does that matter?

–Vitamin K helps to regulate normal blood clotting

–Vitamin C does more than assist your immune system; it’s a powerful antioxidant that promotes skin repair and may help protect against cancer

–Vitamin A helps promote good vision, and keeps your bones, skin, and teeth healthy & strong

–Manganese plays a role in the digestion of protein and carbohydrates, which are included in the smoothie

Kale is pretty fibrous, so baby kale is a great way to incorporate this wonderful veggie into your smoothie if you don’t have a high-powered blender like a Vitamix (in my dreams).

Now onto dinner!

Nathan asked me why I haven’t made tacos in a while the other day, and I thought that was a darn good question. I LOVE Mexican food, however, if you aren’t careful it can pack on a lot of calories and fat (another reason I like to make dinner at home, rather than go out to eat). I make tacos for Nathan and transform my taco into a taco salad. When you add everything up here, it’s about 500 calories, but if you would like to eliminate the taco shell, you save about 100 calories. I must have my shell; I love the crunch it adds. Food is more appetizing and satisfying when there is a combination of textures.

We use ground turkey since I don’t eat beef. I also use a small can or about ½ cup of tomato sauce to keep the meat moist. After browning the meat and adding the sauce, I put in homemade taco seasoning. I use the recipe from A Sweet Pea Chef, but replace the ginger with 1/8 teaspoon ancho chili powder. Then I assemble my salad!

                1 handful mixed greens

                1 handful baby kale

                About six tbsps. of Paul Newman’s Pineapple Salsa

                ¼ an avocado

                1 taco shell heated up and broken into pieces

                4 oz turkey meat

                2 tbsp reduced fat shredded Mexican cheese blend

I’m off to do some yoga stretches while watching Project Runway. Have a wonderful evening!

Leave a Reply

