New Smoothie and Garlic Ginger Stir-Fry

18 Sep

Since I haven’t blogged since December, I figured I owed you a few recipes.

Tropical Smoothie

One cup mixed frozen fruit (pineapple, mango, strawberries)

Two big handfuls of baby spinach

One serving of brown rice protein powder

One tablespoon ground flaxseed

Two tablespoons oatmeal

One banana

One and a half cups vanilla almond milk

Directions: Whip up in a blender for 30 seconds. Enjoy!

If you are ever short on time and have some cooked chicken in the house, I highly recommend this recipe. It literally took me about 15-20 minutes from start to plate.

Garlic Ginger Stir-Fry

About one and a half cups grated carrots

Couple of handfuls of frozen broccoli

One cup of frozen edamame

One tablespoon coconut oil

One teaspoon five spice blend

A tablespoon or two of peanuts

8 oz cooked chicken, diced

Sauce

One teaspoon of grated ginger (I run it over a microplane)

Two cloves garlic, minced (I also run this through the microplane)

Three tablespoons peanut butter

1/4 cup of chicken stock

One tablespoon of soy sauce

Pinch of cayenne or chili flakes

1) Heat one tablespoon of coconut oil in a wok on medium high.

2) Add frozen broccoli and edamame after the coconut oil has melted. Cook for about four minutes. I also added a splash of chicken stock.

3) Add the grated carrots and chicken; cook for another three minutes.

4) While the veggies are cooking, whisk the sauce ingredients together in a small bowl.

5) Add one teaspoon of the five spice blend. Cook for another few minutes.

6) Add the peanuts and cook for two minutes.

7) Add the sauce and cook until heated through.

And then you are done! I ate mine with no rice. You could eat the stir-fry with quinoa for some extra protein if you are watching carbs.

This makes two servings and the sauce recipe is enough for four servings. I had to make my husband’s sans veggies.

YUM!

Enjoy!

One Response to “New Smoothie and Garlic Ginger Stir-Fry”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Taco Salad « Bay Bay Bites - September 20, 2012

    […] I made my Tropical Smoothie with a brand new ingredient, baby kale! I tried a smoothie at Robeks a few weeks ago that had kale […]

Leave a Reply

