Don’t Call it a Comeback

4 Dec

As promised, I’m back from the brink of quitting my blog. Part of the reason I stopped blogging so much was because it was taking me away from some of my other interests, and I really needed to focus on some things at work. And then there was the depression I talked about in the last blog. But in order to keep things on track with my mental and physical health, it’s important that I document my food and activity and hold myself accountable.

Yesterday I did some meal planning and went grocery shopping with the hub. We spent way too much money (I blame the stupid razor blades–those things are so expensive!) but I think it was worth it. It was crazy busy in Bellingham. We are close to the Canadian border so it’s almost like our population doubles on the weekends with people coming from Canada to do their shopping. It’s nice for our economy but it’s really stressful and overwhelming since there’s not really enough room for so many people. One Canadian was literally parked right in front of TJ Maxx with their hazards blinking blocking traffic. Now, when my dad is waiting for my mom and I to come out of a store, he circles. That’s common courtesy and legal. I was really annoyed because I was one of the cars being blocked so I had some choice words (“You are blocking traffic and you NEED to move your car!”) for her when I got out of the car. I wasn’t the only one. Another gal yelled something at her before me and the guy behind me said “Exactly!”

Sunday was certainly more relaxing. I went for a walk/hike with Elisa and our dogs. Edie was acting more crazy than normal, which is hard to believe. She ran around the dog park barking (she rarely barks at other dogs) and ran in large circles as fast as she could. She literally looked possessed. When we got home I started getting things situated for tomorrow and luckily Edie passed out on the couch.

Gym clothes all laid out

 

Vitamins on the counter

 

Hat, Ipod accessories, workout notebook, and inhaler ready to go!

 

I started on my soup for the week. I try to make soups in the fall and winter for lunch and salads during the spring and summer. Both of them are really easy for getting a good amount of veggies into your diet. I also decided to start going vegetarian for lunch as much as I can. I’ve toyed with the idea of going back to it but I’m pretty sure my husband and I wouldn’t have anything in common that we ate. This would make dinners difficult. Also, I’m afraid I won’t get enough protein which was a problem for me in the past when I was vegetarian. I decided that going halfway would be the best of both worlds.

For my lunch, I turned to Mama Pea. I made the Spicy African Peanut Stew and am so excited to try it. I couldn’t find garam masala at Fred Meyer, which made me a little mad since I was right by my favorite spice place, Spice Hut, earlier in the day and I would’ve bought it there. Anywho, I put in a dash of paprika and 1/2 teaspoon of cumin instead. I also made her Lemon Rosemary Roasted Chickpeas. Once again, I did a substitute. I have a bunch of fresh herbs leftover from Thanksgiving so I put in some thyme rather than dried rosemary.

The plans for tomorrow are as follows–

Meals

Breakfast– Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana oatmeal with soy milk

Snack 1– Roasted Chickpeas with two clementines

Lunch–Spicy African Peanut Stew

Snack 2– Fage Greek yogurt with strawberries

Dinner–Skillet Roasted Chicken Breast with Citrus Roasted Potatoes and kale

Workout

–30 minutes of intervals on an elliptical

–30-45 minutes of weight training focusing on back, triceps, and abs (I got a great weight lifting routine from Muscle and Fitness Hers

And of course, a morning game of soccer with the pup. Well, I am off. I’ve slept better since my last post but I’m still taking precautions to make sure I sleep ok. That means no electronics too close to bed time and some chamomile tea. Have a great night!

3 Responses to “Don’t Call it a Comeback”

  1. Marsha December 5, 2011 at 7:47 PM #

    Please explain the chocolate peanut butter banana yogurt.

    • baybaybites December 5, 2011 at 8:30 PM #

      Half a cup prepared oatmeal, 2 tbsp chocolate protein powder, 1 tbsp peanut butter, and one sliced banana

  2. Marsha December 5, 2011 at 7:48 PM #

    I meant oatmeal, not yogurt.

Leave a Reply

