It’s baaaacccckkkk……

11 Sep

Well, football season is back. I finally wrestled my laptop back from the hub so I could do some blogging. Apparently he can’t go into the “Man Cave” to update or check his fifty Fantasy Football Teams.

My mom is here, trying to help me get things done for our housewarming/reception this Saturday. She is also trying to help me calm down and de-stress, which is probably not going to happen. Things are pretty stressful at work and I want to make everything perfect for the party (which I am well aware is not possible). I know I do it to myself. Thankfully working out helps alleviate stress (as do wonderful talks from my wise husband).

On Saturday I had a run, the Fairhaven Runners Waterfront 15k. It’s been unseasonably hot in Bellingham this past week, and the temperatures got into the 80s on Saturday. The last race I did when it was this warm, I did not do so well. I went a lot slower than I planned so I was prepared to not meet my normal time. The run was pretty and followed some similar streets as the Bellingham Bay Half Marathon (it’s in two weeks!). I had my Aquapods on and used the water stations to pour water on my head numerous times. I was doing better than I thought for a good portion of the race, a pace of 9:00 to 9:30. Of course, that didn’t last. The last two miles I slowed down to the tens because I was just so hot. I remember seeing the leader running past the six mile mark when I was at the three. He was running about a 5:11 mile pace. WOW. I ended up finishing at 9:49 per mile, which I was quite pleased with.

My mom and the hub came to cheer me on at the end. A friend of ours from work ran too and he was cheering at the finish line for me. 🙂

Me and the hub (he's pretending to touch me but he's not because I'm drenched with sweat and water)

The rest of the weekend was filled with errands, breakdowns, some tears, and good food. I will be back tomorrow with a review of the tea and spices from Spice Hut.

But before I sign off, I want to give a piece of this blog to remember 9/11. As I’m typing this, I’m getting tears in my eyes. We’re watching 9/11: Ten Years Later. I can’t even imagine what any of the people in New York went through. There are things I’m finding out that I never even knew. I think it’s because at the time I didn’t want to know all the details. Ten years ago, I was a junior in college at Western Washington University, thousands of miles away from my parents in Minnesota. I couldn’t handle it. But now I am ready to hear the stories and honor their memories. And I will never forget.

Leave a Reply

