Back To The Grind

29 Aug

Ugh…Going back to work on a Monday after vacation is never easy. Going back to work on a Monday after vacation is especially not easy if you’re slammed with things to do and you have to be away from home until 9pm. After work tonight I have a meeting with the Friends of the Library Board which I so graciously volunteered to be the treasurer for. I actually enjoying doing it but it’s just not the way I want to ease back into my work week. Tomorrow night will be a late one as well since we are having a shower for a recently married co-worker.

So because of all these plans, I am blogging to you straight from the lunch room at work! This is my delicious lunch.

 

Hugh Jass Salad; chicken, carrots, tomatoes, cucumbers, cranberries, sunflower seeds, croutons and balsamic dressing

This is one of four recipes I am making this week from Peasandthankyou.com. I didn’t have time to press the tofu last night though so this Hugh Jass Salad has chicken on it. Sorry Mama Pea!

For breakfast I had the Pumpkin Cream Pie Oat Bran (you have to buy the book for that one!). It was really good. I didn’t add any sweetener in it because I wanted to see how it tasted alone. I am definitely going to add some honey tomorrow morning. I just think it would pair really well with the pumpkin flavor, and something about honey always reminds me of fall too (my favorite season!!!).

For snacks today I’m having some Fage with chia seeds, flax meal and blueberries. I already ate my morning snack of Protein Trail Mix cookies, another recipe courtesy of Mama Pea. I really liked the cookies which pleasantly surprised me. I don’t generally like the strong vanilla flavor of the protein powder; I think it’s a little too sweet. But the recipe had just the right amount where it doesn’t overpower the whole cookie. I didn’t have any almonds or pepitas so I used pistachios and walnuts.

Protein Trail Mix Cookie

Dinner tonight will sadly be a Clif Body Builder Bar inhaled during the library meeting. After a long stressful day at work, all I want to do is go home and curl up with the hub and the pup. But duty calls!

Leave a Reply

