New Shoes from Fairhaven Runners & Walkers!

25 Aug

Yesterday after my run I felt a familiar twinge in my shins. No, please no, not again. I stretched, iced and soaked in the jetted tub. I even popped some ibuprofen, but my right shin still felt tight and achy. I decided to rest completely today and apply ice. I took Edie out to go to the bathroom and jogged just a short distance but it didn’t matter. Pain shot through my shin on the right and a dull pain on the left.

I’ve been plagued with shin splints several times. I’ve never seen a sports doctor about them, just my regular doctor. He just said the normal thing, ice and rest. Of course, he didn’t really go into the why so I did the research on my own. There are several reasons you can get shin splints–

  1. Too much, too soon. Working out too much before you have built up the stamina can cause various injuries in different places. Running too many miles too soon can cause shin splints.
  2. Incorrect shoes or old shoes. If you haven’t replaced your shoes after about 500 miles (or six months, depending on how far you run per week), the support system could be shot.
  3. Weak muscles. I’ve read several articles that claim weakness in different muscles are responsible for shin splints. I’ve heard weak hips, hamstrings, and ankles can all be at fault. Since I’m not a doctor, I can’t really say which one is correct but general strength training to protect all your parts is definitely important. I have very small weak ankles. I’ve sprained my right ankle over five times and have very weak tendons in that side. Just so happens, it’s also the side where my shin acts up.

Typically I run on trails but since the move I’ve had to add some street running. Since my needs are now different and I can’t remember the last time I bought new running shoes, I knew I had to go visit my buddy Steve at Fairhaven Runners and Walkers.

Best Running Store Ever

I met Steve when I worked in the Fairhaven neighborhood of Bellingham. He is one of the nicest people I have ever met. When I found out he owned the store, I peppered him with questions about running, fitness, and health. He was always more than happy to answer all of my questions and then some. Each time I saw Steve, he asked me how my running was going and asked about my goals. He really held me accountable and always encouraged me. Steve genuinely wants people to succeed in all their goals and aid them in any way he can. I’m so happy I have the privilege of knowing him.

Holy shoes Batman!

Even before I met Steve I bought running shoes at Fairhaven Runners and Walkers. They are experts on what shoes will work for each running style and foot type. The employees watch you walk and run to determine your stride. This is imperative if you plan on running a long race or doing any extensive running. Just stopping in any store and grabbing a shoe that’s labeled “running” is like going into Macy’s and just grabbing the first dress you see. You need to try it on and pick something that works for your body; something that enhances your best features and aids you in areas that aren’t your best.

I'll take both of the pink tops please

All the men's clothes

Steve picked three shoes in neutral strides for me. He also took into consideration that I was doing a lot of street running and my tendency to get shin splints. I tried on two pairs of Mizunos (my past 2-3 pairs have been Mizunos) and one pair of Brooks. I narrowed it down to a pair of Brooks and Mizunos. I ran down the block in both and was really torn. The Mizunos gave a lot of support, as did the Brooks. The Brooks felt a little more cushy, but I tend to veer away from anything too soft for running because I’m afraid it would give out sooner. Steve reassured me that this wouldn’t happen, and he felt the Brooks would support better and impact some of the running vibrations better.

They have organized runs throughout the week and clinics!

I ended up going with the Brooks Defyance 4 shoe. I didn’t take a picture because I was lazy and, I know this is very ungirlie, I don’t really care what the shoe looks like. This might come as quite a shock to some, especially since my original major in college was Retail Merchandising, but now, I’m more concerned with how the shoe performs than the look. Wow…little Jessica is all grown up! 🙂

I also grabbed a couple of packages of Clif Shot Blocks (I’m not a huge fan of Gu but I will use it) and a new energy chew Steve recommended, Honey Stinger. They are organic energy chews with Vitamin C and electrolytes. I’m really intrigued since they are made with organic honey and organic tapioca syrup, and I can pronounce all the ingredients on the package. That’s always a plus in my book!

All in all, it was a great shopping trip (also got my hair did!). I highly recommend you visit Fairhaven Runners and Walkers if you are ever in Bellingham or are in need of some new shoes. It’s great to shop local and it’s definitely worth it for all the personal attention and advice you get. I love working with Steve but I’ve bought two other pairs with the equally capable staff. Run there now!

I heart Steve!

3 Responses to “New Shoes from Fairhaven Runners & Walkers!”

  1. rogue58 August 25, 2011 at 9:15 PM #

    Jessica!! What a marvelous, well-written, insightful, kind and informative post! I love it. Great photos! Thank you so much for coming in again and giving me the chance to see you and help with your running. It was a joy and I wish you all the best in your training and racing this fall! I hope you continue to ice and take care. Big hugs, Steve

  2. Marsha August 26, 2011 at 7:58 PM #

    Of course, both your parents have weak ankles. Love the picture of you and Steve. What a nice man.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Epic Fail « Bay Bay Bites - September 1, 2011

    […] some on both shins for about twenty minutes. After that I massaged my shins for five minutes as my buddy Steve recommended. I wore my Sofft shoes at work and was able to sit at the desk most of the day. They […]

Leave a Reply

