Willpower and Chafing

24 Aug

A few weeks ago on my birthday, I brought home treats I bought at work for charity. I purchased a dozen brownies and a dozen peanut butter cookies. I left a half-dozen at work and a half-dozen were brought home for Nathan. The whole night they sat on the counter taunting me. I asked Nathan if he would bring them into his man cave so that I wouldn’t be tempted. He argued that if he kept them in there they would all be gone in one night. He said, “Why can’t we just leave them out here and you can use your willpower?” Apparently he didn’t see the irony in that comment.

I went to a nutritionist a few years back when I was having stomach issues. I told her that I ate pretty well but when confronted with “treats” at work, I have trouble leaving them on the plate. The nutritionist, who was about ten inches taller than me and probably weighed ten pounds less than me, said she had trouble saying “no” to treats when they stared her in the face as well. Although I found it hard to believe, I was a little comforted by that. I have no trouble ordering something healthy when we go out to eat, but it’s much harder when free food filled with addictive sugar is staring right at you. And because of the addictive nature it’s difficult to say no to “just one more”. I prefer just to not even have a bite.

Another time my willpower is tested is that wonderful time of the month when your hormones scream for sugar. That happened to me this week.

Bucket 'O Donuts

Unfortunately, we started a tradition last year of buying a bucket of donuts from Voodoo Donuts (um, not a great tradition). $5 for a huge bucket of donuts? What a great deal! Nathan’s brother has about seven people living in a rented house with him in Portland so we knew these would go quick. However, Jessica the PMS Monster was on the prowl. I swear, I must have eaten about four donuts. Then when we got home I made Mama Pea’s Dough Balls which was another mistake. On my run this morning I could feel sugar oozing out of every pore.

So my tips for avoiding your trigger foods and pigging out on them–

  1. Don’t even take a bite unless you are confident that you can eat only one. To help, tell another person you are only eating one or heck, tell your whole office. They may look at you crazy but you will be the one who doesn’t have a tummy ache at the end of the day.
  2. Don’t even put it in front of you. If you are going out to Mexican and not having a “treat” night ask them not to bring out chips and salsa (same with bread). If the people you are going out with have to have it, keep it towards them and/or let them know you aren’t having any. I find saying things out loud really helps you hold yourself accountable.
  3. Let people know you are eating healthy. They may not make food you can eat but at least you can justify yourself when you don’t eat any.
  4. If you do want a treat, go for something full fat. I’ve tried doing the low-fat low-cal treat before and that “itch” does not get scratched. Eat something full fat but in a small portion. You will get the flavor you were looking for.

As for chafing…well, everyone has it. Blisters? Those are essentially chafing. My chafing mostly involves my inner thighs. Yeah, I said it. My inner thighs touch when I run. I’m a curvier gal and I always will be, so the odds of my thighs never touching are slim to none. This does not bode well for running in the standard running shorts. I have to wear tight capris or shorts. If I don’t have any that are clean, then I have to use my anti-chafing stick. If you are considering any long distance run, I highly recommend purchasing some. It will save you every time. I put it on my armpits, between my thighs, and on the bottom of my feet. It looks and goes on like a mini deodorant. I found mine at REI but I’m sure any sporting goods or running store would have some.

Those are my thoughts for today. 🙂 A little random match but that’s how I roll.

2 Responses to “Willpower and Chafing”

  1. Marsha August 25, 2011 at 9:16 AM #

    I was going to wait until I came to visit you t tell you, but I too am having eating problems. Nothing major, just trying to eat well and not losing the extra pounds. Bleh! Then I go to B&N for coffee and of course there are always treats.
    Today, however, I am just having coffee. 🙂

    • baybaybites August 25, 2011 at 9:20 AM #

      Good job! It’s hard to say no sometimes. We’ll make lots of healthy things when you are here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

