7 Mile Run Before Work On the Reg

18 Aug

On the reg? Ha ha, I think not. Don’t think I’ll be doing seven miles before work again for some time. I think this is only a in case of emergency situation.

The past two mornings, Edie has encountered the most interesting things on our morning runs. Yesterday she heard her first cow “moo”. Her head perked up and she kept looking around but couldn’t figure out where it was coming from. Actually, neither could I because it was foggy and I think the cow was in the back of the field. We turned onto a different road and a tractor was coming towards us. The tractor nicely moved to the other side of the road so it wouldn’t be in danger of hitting us. Well, that definitely wasn’t going to be a problem since Edie was all the way down in the ditch. When she got back on the road she saw a dead mole on his back and tried to play with him. I told her he was sleeping.

This morning we took off for our seven mile run, which included a spin through an off leash dog park. Edie met a boy dog who tried to follow her home. On our way back she saw a horse close up for the first time; we were about three feet away. She started running towards it and the horse actually started to come close to her. I didn’t want anyone to get hurt so we moved along.

Can you blame him for wanting to follow someone this cute?

I love running out in farm country in the mornings where I get to witness things like this every day. The only downfall is the fact that no bike lanes exist. I find myself jumping in the ditch if there are two cars coming from opposite directions. I think one farmer thought I was a little odd this morning. I have an Aqua Pod belt that I slip Edie’s leash through so I don’t have to hold it with my hands. I’m assuming he saw a short blonde person with red face, hair sticking every which way, with a reflective vest, headphones, and a weird belt with a dog attached. Personally, I don’t see anything wrong with that but that’s just me.

Why the seven mile run before work? Well, I have an important place to be Saturday morning so I wouldn’t have time for my long run. Sunday I’m taking a yoga class in Portland so that day was out too. I want to make sure I have a relaxing time on the first few days of my vacation since the tail end is going to be pretty packed!

This morning I finished off my Mango Coconut Smoothie. Since I was starving from the long run I ate half a bagel with PB and about seven raspberries when I got to work (I wish I had my camera with me; it looked so cute with the little raspberries on top!). I snacked on the usual, Trader Joe’s Omega Trail Mix, and got a soy chai for a treat. Lunch was a Clif Builder Bar and Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup. And my dear readers, I apologize but I left something out of my diet yesterday. I ate one Kashi Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookie. I felt bad I didn’t include it yesterday; I felt like I lied to you.

Tonight I was absolutely starving on my way home from work. I couldn’t contemplate putting together a taco. I had a wrap in the fridge I planning on eating tomorrow but I inhaled it as soon as I walked in the door.

And now I must go pack, pack, and pack! One more work day until one week of vacation! Not that I’m counting.

2 Responses to “7 Mile Run Before Work On the Reg”

  1. Marsha August 20, 2011 at 10:12 AM #

    Have a great, relaxing vacation. To Nathan too. Edie looks so cute, I agree.

  2. Mama Pea August 20, 2011 at 5:50 PM #

    Edie is adorable!

    So lovely to meet you today. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

