Get Ripped! With Jari Love: Slim & Lean Review and Today’s Workout & Food

17 Aug

Yesterday I did Get Ripped! With Jari Love: Slim & Lean. I expected some variation in the video since it’s called something completely different from the first video I did, but alas, I had a little déjà vu while doing this workout. Looking at the DVD boxes I noticed they were both made in 2006, so it shouldn’t be too much of a surprise that the video background is exactly the same. Some of the moves were different and I was more prepared (I brought my step!). I’m not even going to list the pros and cons again because it’s literally like I did the same video. I did some planks after for my abs since there are only a few minutes of abs at the end. I did feel sore this morning all the right spots when I woke up so I know I definitely worked my muscles.

This morning the pup and I went for a 4 mile tempo run. I was supposed to run at 11:31 minutes a mile but that was virtually impossible. I’m an impatient person by nature so after going around 11:00 minutes per mile, I had to speed it up a bit. I ended up doing a little over 10 minutes per mile so that’s not bad. It was nice going at a slower pace for my sore muscles. This morning I broke out a Mango Coconut Smoothie and the traditional toast with PB. There’s not much variation in food this week since we’re trying to eat everything in the fridge before we go on vacation. 🙂 I had some leftover Shrimp and Pea Salad with Basil that I had put in the freezer for lunch. Snacks were Trader Joe’s Omega Trail Mix and Fage with blueberries and Kashi Go Lean Crunch.

Mango Coconut Smoothie; I had to take a sip first!

 

That smoothie is lip-smacking good!

For dinner I changed things up a bit. I made Fiesta Chicken Tacos from cookinglight.com. I searched all over for chipotle chile powder at Fred Meyer but I couldn’t find any. I went to Spice Hut because I was sure they would have some. Alas, they didn’t but they had ancho chile powder. It doesn’t have quite the same flavor but it was a good substitute. Instead of making the Mango and Jicama Salad because 1) my jicama got moldy and 2) we leave on Friday and I wasn’t sure I would be able to finish it before we leave. As I’ve said before, I HATE wasting food. I used the mango to make a salsa.

On the Fly Mango Salsa

2 Roma tomatoes, diced

1 mango, diced

1/4 cup red onion, diced

juice of one lime

pinch of cayenne

2 tsps chopped fresh cilantro

1/4 cup red pepper, diced (I wanted to use green for more color but it was moldy…grrr)

Toss all in a bowl and eat up!

I also made some chipotle refried black beans. That’s super easy too! One can refried vegetarian black beans, two teaspoons sauce from chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, and one tablespoon chopped cilantro. Yum….

Oh yeah, and a glass of wine; one of those days

 

I warmed up the corn tortillas on the stove like I always see on Food Network. I finally have a gas stove so I can actually try it!

Just put heat it on each side for about 5 seconds until pliable

 

Finished product; didn't use mixed greens but red pepper slices

Speaking of Spice Hut, as you remember in a previous post I was offered some free tea and a spice sample to review on the blog. We stopped by there last weekend and the woman working there didn’t have any information. I left my name and number with her, and the owner called back on Monday. Hopefully I can coordinate something with him for next week while I’m on vacation so I can get that review out!

I have some more surprised up my sleeve for my vacay activities! Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

