Four Races in Two Months..Uh…

16 Aug

So I did something a little silly and quite ambitious…I signed up for four races that will take place over September and October. Granted, two aren’t half marathons, but that’s still a lot of running. I have every confidence I’ll be able to do it, but I just have to make sure I keep up the weight lifting and cross training to prevent injury.

Race number one is Fairhaven Runners Waterfront 15k. I’m particularly excited about this one for two reasons. First of all, I know the owner of Fairhaven Runners and he is one of the nicest people I know. The store has the best customer service and they match you up with the perfect shoe for the way you run. In fact, I’m going there next week and I’m devoting a whole post to their process! Secondly, my nephew’s birthday is September 11th, which is the around the date this race is every year. This is the first time I’ll be running it.

Race number two is the one I’ve currently been training for, The Bellingham Bay Half-Marathon. This is the second half marathon I ever ran and it is a great course. There aren’t too many hills, the fans are great, and the scenery is spectacular.

After the race with my #1 fan

Race number three was a great cause that I couldn’t pass up. I’m running the Lake Padden Trail Classic for the Anna Brulotte Memorial Foundation. Anna was hit by a car why crossing the street in a marked crosswalk with her mother by a distracted driver. She passed away at two years old. The day Anna was hit, I took an unpaid day off of work to go search for missing college student Dwight Clark. The press from Seattle was following us all day until we heard a cacophony of sirens. I heard the reporter say, “Someone was hit. We have to go.” I didn’t imagine it would turn out the way it did. I wanted to help because the memorial is something I believe in; too many people drive distracted with dangerous consequences. Running a half marathon on some of my favorite trails is an added benefit.

Race number four is from the bucket list. I’ve always wanted to do the Warrior Dash so when a friend of mine mentioned she was doing the Gladiator Rock ‘N Run in Seattle and asked if I wanted to join, I jumped at the chance. When else am I going to run a 5k through tires, climb a cargo net over a cargo container, dodge a wrecking ball, and dangle on monkey bars over a muddy pit?!

This morning I ate the rest of my Mixed Berry/Banana Smoothie with some toast and PB. Oh and can’t forget the supplements and Rooibos Chai!

Minus the smoothie pic because it's in an old water bottle

I had some more Trader Joe’s Omega Trail mix for a snack along with cottage cheese, blueberries and a little Kashi Go Lean on top. Lunch was a repeat from yesterday too. Dinner was impromptu since I had to close tonight and work was ridiculously busy. I took some Trader Joe’s Grilled Chicken put it between some whole grain sandwich thins with olive tapenade and spinach. I also steamed some spinach on the side for extra veggies. It was really tasty and took only five minutes.

I did another one of Jari Love’s videos (more about that tomorrow) and now it’s time for bed; after I finish crying from laughing too hard at Tosh.O.

One Response to “Four Races in Two Months..Uh…”

  1. Marsha August 17, 2011 at 9:57 AM #

    Two things:
    You have a lot of energy.
    Love the pic of you and your #1 fan.

Leave a Reply

