Back on track

15 Aug

Not sure if any of you ladies (or men) do this, but I always proclaim the week of my birthday “Birthday Week”. This year birthday week didn’t start until Thursday, the actual date of my birthday. Birthday week means I pretty much get my way and get to do whatever I want. This year was fairly tame. I did however eat some crappy food. Over the course of four days I had two brownies, four peanut butter cookies, an Oreo Brownie Earthquake, a brownie sundae, two Cheese and Chile tamales from Trader Joes, and a whole bag of  BBQ Pop Chips. 😦 Not good. It’s even embarrassing writing it all out.

But today I’m back on track! I made a mixed berry/banana smoothie.

Mixed Berry/Banana Smoothie

1 cup mixed frozen berries

1 cup soy milk

Couple splashes of coconut water

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

Handful of spinach

1/2 tbsp flax meal

1/2 tbsp chia seeds

I ate half this morning with a piece of toast with PB. I was famished because I wasn’t allowed to eat until an hour after I woke up! We had a life insurance physical this morning and had to fast. When she was taking my blood, I honestly almost threw up (and I wasn’t even looking!).

Lunch…Well I was planning on just eating some soup with mixed greens, chicken and raspberry vinaigrette. Then I remembered a delicious chicken salad sandwich I had for lunch last week. I decided to imitate it but make a healthy version. I took some grilled chicken (I would say four ounces) and chopped it into small pieces. I put a small spoonful of Fage into a bowl with equal amounts of Saffola Mayonnaise and stirred it together. Then I added about a tablespoon or two of Sahale Snacks Valdosta Pecans. I didn’t have any celery since I was at work but I plan on adding it tomorrow. I mixed it all together and tossed it onto some mixed greens. To up my veggie content, I had a bowl of roasted red pepper and tomato soup. YUM! I loved using the Sahale mix in the salad because it added SO much flavor.

Can't wait to eat this again tomorrow!

I snacked on some Trader Joe’s Omega Trail Mix and some Fage with blueberries. I had a gigantic migraine starting from about 1pm on. I thought I was just hungry but after eating the yogurt and berries, it didn’t help. The last thing I wanted to do was make dinner when I got home. But since we are going on vacation next week I didn’t want to spend any money, and I didn’t want to end up eating something that wasn’t good for me. I stuck with my original plan to make Thai Lime Chicken and some Trader Joe’s Frozen Grilled Asparagus. I wasn’t so impressed with this recipe. There was just something missing…I’m thinking it needed a coating of egg white first and maybe some bread crumbs mixed in with the peanuts. I’ll have to try that next time because I wouldn’t make this as is again. I also decreased the amount of garlic powder because that was way too much. I didn’t need to taste it to know that! I decreased it to the same amount as the ginger. Dessert was a nectarine.

I still have a migraine but I do feel better after I ate healthy all day. The gallon of water I drank today helped as well. Plus, I wanted to be prepared for another Jari Love video tomorrow morning. Time for some body pump! I am off to put a cold washcloth on my eyes and lay down. Enjoy your night!

3 Responses to “Back on track”

  1. Lisa August 16, 2011 at 8:15 PM #

    Love your smoothie mix! I use basically all of those in my smoothies too… it’s delicious! 😀

    • baybaybites August 16, 2011 at 8:21 PM #

      🙂 Thank you! I have a few others on the blog to check out as well. They are under the recipe category.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Four Races in Two Months..Uh… « Bay Bay Bites - August 16, 2011

    […] Trail mix for a snack along with cottage cheese, blueberries and a little Kashi Go Lean on top. Lunch was a repeat from yesterday too. Dinner was impromptu since I had to close tonight and work was ridiculously busy. I took some […]

Leave a Reply

