Good-Bye Scale!

10 Aug

This is what I wanted to do all day today.

Today was one of those days where eating clean was pretty difficult. Why, you ask? I’m assuming it’s because a) I didn’t go for a run this morning and b) I was utterly and thoroughly exhausted all day. I am trying to determine whether the exhaustion stems from the cold or not running. This experiment will be tested tomorrow morning when I WILL run. I’m setting my cell phone alarm and putting it across the room so I have to get out of bed to turn it off.

However, I managed to eat clean all day! You know when you are tired you just really crave carbs, all day long? That was me. But this morning I had a Muscle Milk Shake and toast with PB and a smidge of jelly. Lunch was my Crock Pot Chicken Noodle Soup and some cherries on the side. The Hub made a dinner of turkey burgers with Alexia’s Chipotle Sweet Potato Fries. Snacks were equally nutritious. I had low-fat cottage cheese with blueberries and Fage with nectarine and PB granola.

Tomorrow is an all-day treat day because……it’s my birthday. Yes, tomorrow I will turn 31 years old. OMG. For my thirtieth birthday my goal was to run a half marathon, which I will blog about tomorrow, but at 31, I set no goal. I wish I would have, because tomorrow is already shaping up to be just another day. My boss is buying lunch for everyone, I ordered treats (with funds going to a good cause), and the Hub is taking me out to Boundary Bay Brewery (so really, it IS special). I think I’m feeling a little down because I always make plans for a party for my birthday. This year between getting married, buying the house, and hosting our reception in one month, I didn’t have much in me. But we are going on vacation to Portland soon and I know I have some great presents headed my way so BUCK UP! 🙂

At the suggestion of my dear friend Lelia, I’ve decided to ditch the scale. That’s right, I’m aiming to lose my 20 lbs without a scale. I’ve been weighing myself every week and the numbers have been going down but one week they stayed the same when I did nothing wrong. I was pretty confused so I e-mailed my gal, and she told me to stop focusing so much on the weight and just concentrate on eating great and working out. This is a great suggestion because they scale has never been my friend and has put a lot of pressure on me. So for two months my scale will have a new home at Lelia’s. 🙂 Since she’s training for her first figure competition, she needs to keep track of her weight.

I did get an early birthday present today (besides the super sweet card and monetary donation from my parents).

I’m off to explore this beauty and then it’s time to hit the sack. Until tomorrow!

What is your favorite thing to do on your birthday?

5 Responses to “Good-Bye Scale!”

  1. jennapulley August 10, 2011 at 8:11 PM #

    Happy early birthday Jess! Way to go…ditch that scale 🙂 My favorite thing to do on my birthday is go out to eat with my family (no clean up)!

    • baybaybites August 10, 2011 at 8:14 PM #

      I think the scale just ends up making me feel worse because I put too many expectations on it. I’m fitting in clothes I haven’t fit in since last summer so that’s good enough for me!

      Ha ha! Good plan! We were going to wait to go out for dinner on Saturday but then I thought, “Do I really want to come home from a long day of work and make dinner? Do I really want my husband to make dinner (trust me, I don’t)?” Let’s go out tomorrow! 🙂

  2. Marsha August 11, 2011 at 6:40 PM #

    My favorite thing to do on my birthday is to hike and go out to eat. I like to go to places that have relaxing live music, especially smooth jazz.

  3. Gregg August 11, 2011 at 9:20 PM #

    Birthday = huge steak at a nice restaurant or sushi.

    I really don’t like parties or celebrations. My last couple birthdays have been very low key and that’s the way I like it. Much like New Year’s Eve, I try to make it a day of reflection.

    • baybaybites August 12, 2011 at 4:00 PM #

      I think my parents ruined me for life by making my birthdays spectacular. 🙂

Leave a Reply

