Friday Night Double Date @ The Fountain Bistro and Drive-Thru

7 Aug

Thursday night the sore throat started….then the earache. Friday morning I woke up and my head was stuffed. I thought I beat this! What is going on?! I didn’t do the Jari Love video because I figured I needed to rest up so I don’t get sick. I ended up taking the dog out and then falling asleep on the couch watching HGTV. The hub woke me up to get ready for work. Unfortunately, I had to work Saturday as well. But this is the last Saturday for months! Normally I don’t work on weekends; I just do it when I want a day off during the week.

Even though I was exhausted after work and felt something trying to attack my immune system, we accepted the offer to go out to dinner with some friends on Friday night. We didn’t turn them down for two reasons—
1)      We went to the Fountain and I’ve never been there
2)      We were invited by our good friends who are getting married at the end of the month (the gal I made the jewelry for)

I always scope out menus online before we go out to eat because I’m just that obsessed with food. And it doesn’t matter if I’ve already made my decision on what I want; I will still peruse the menu to make sure I’m getting the best choice. I told the husband I wanted the clams and of course, forever the cheap-skate, he said they were too expensive. He told me to get an $8 salad.

The Fountain is located in an old KFC but you would never know. I parked in the adjacent parking lot and was greeted by the gorgeous patio with a pergola. The landscaping is luscious (something I notice more now that we own our own home).

Since I was still in my work clothes which were much to hot (have to account for that air conditioning) I chose a table inside.

I loved the decor; traditional elements with a mostly modern flair. The square tiles on the ceiling added more dimension and interest. My favorite part had to be the windows behind us. They were so large and opened directly to the patio. It, created a great open concept, not to mention the wonderful breeze.

 

Marcy and Ryan

We all arrived a little earlier than Nathan and went straight for the cocktails. I wasn’t going to have a drink since I was feeling under the weather but then I saw something I could not resist.

Uh, lavender? SIGN ME UP!

Heaven! I would bathe in lavender if I could. This is one of the best cocktails I’ve had in quite a while. The lemon, lavender and liquor were all balanced perfectly. I hate when the vodka overpowers the cocktail. It tasted like a delicious lemonade with a hint of floral from the lavender; summer in a martini glass.

We order the Fountain “Crazy” Avocado as an appetizer and it did not disappoint. Creamy avocado with warm goat cheese on top; I could eat that everyday. My only complaint is that it didn’t come with enough bread. We were given some upon request but it wasn’t garlic toasted. I would order this again as a meal with a salad.

Since I didn’t eat much during the day, I went all out for my entrée. Instead of ordering the clams, I went down a little in price and got the salmon pasta (Farfalle Pasta with Smoked Salmon). My dinner came with a side salad with homemade croutons (those were AMAZING; nice and crunchy with just a little bit of give). And then the beauty came.

The bow-tie pasta came tossed with a creamy pesto sauce with a handful of arugula on top. A balsamic reduction was artfully tossed over the dish. I love balsamic, and I wish they would’ve put more on top. The pesto overpowered the balsamic so I could taste it. After watching so many episodes of Chopped, I’m not a big fan of a garnish/sauce if it doesn’t enhance the dish or you can’t taste it. The arugula was a great addition with the hint of pepper and the texture paired nicely with the creamy pasta. The smoked salmon balanced the sweet flavor of the basil. I felt the dish needed just a little crunch somewhere, maybe some nuts; walnuts or pine nuts (since the pesto was made without nuts). Unfortunately I was so hungry that I didn’t get a chance to enjoy it as much as I should have. I would like to order this again when I’m not so hungry (and when I can taste more; stuffed sinuses often cut taste). 🙂

I know that we will certainly be back to The Fountain soon, hopefully for breakfast because they have a great menu. And mimosas!

One Response to “Friday Night Double Date @ The Fountain Bistro and Drive-Thru”

  1. Marsha August 9, 2011 at 11:43 AM #

    Now you are a restaurant critic. Good job. You made me want to go there.

Leave a Reply

