Chicken Noodle Soup for My Cold

7 Aug

When I get a cold, I always go straight for the chicken noodle soup. The hub gets mad when I buy organic chicken noodle soup. He certainly prefers I buy the $.99 can of Campbell’s. Of course I understand where he’s coming from as far as price goes, but it pains me to eat non-organic chicken. The last thing you want to do when you are sick is make soup. Since I’m not on my deathbed I decided to make some chicken noodle soup from scratch in the crock pot to appease both of us.

I searched high and low for recipes on the internet but I couldn’t find anything that met my specifications. I decided to take different elements from several recipes and add my own flair. This is what I came up with. I haven’t followed any recipe close enough for me to quote a source.

Crock Pot Chicken Noodle Soup

1 tsp extra virgin olive oil

4 minced garlic cloves

1 tsp minced ginger

3 carrots chopped

3 stalks celery chopped

1 onion chopped

1 lb chicken breast

1 bay leaf

pinch of cayenne (I used 1/4 tsp and it was way too much)

1 package egg noodles (8oz)

5 handfuls baby spinach

1) Heat crock pot on high while you mince garlic and ginger. I found a great tip from watching Food Network. Instead of using my garlic press and getting sticky garlic all over the press or doing it by hand, use a microplane (but don’t grate your fingers!).

2) Put one tsp oil in the crock pot. Stir the garlic and ginger.

3) While the ginger and garlic are in the pot, chop the onion, celery, and carrots. Add to pot.

4) Chop chicken into pieces. Add to pot along with pinch of cayenne.

5) Add eight cups of water to pot along with six chicken bouillon cubes. Put in the bay leaf.

6) Cook on low for six hours, high for three hours, or until the chicken is cooked through. Ten minutes before serving add the egg noodles and spinach.

7) Before serving remove bay leaf and spoon into five bowls (or in my case Tupperware for the week).

I added ginger to the traditional chicken soup flavors because it’s been used for centuries to treat colds and the flu.  The cayenne helps to get the sinuses flowing and unplugged. It has also been used as a cold remedy and is reportedly good for sore throats and coughs. Garlic is thought to have antibiotic properties.  

I used organic for most of the ingredients, especially the spinach and celery since they are part of the dirty dozen. I also prefer to eat organic carrots because the taste is so much better.

So here’s to hoping the soup, the neti pot, and Emergen-C will do the trick.

 

One Response to “Chicken Noodle Soup for My Cold”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Good-Bye Scale! « Bay Bay Bites - August 10, 2011

    […] But this morning I had a Muscle Milk Shake and toast with PB and a smidge of jelly. Lunch was my Crock Pot Chicken Noodle Soup and some cherries on the side. The Hub made a dinner of turkey burgers with Alexia’s Chipotle […]

Leave a Reply

