Contest Winner and Meal Planning

31 Jul

And the first blog giveaway goes to……Gregg!!! Congrats! I will get that in the mail to you this week. 🙂

This morning I woke up extremely crabby for no apparent reason. Maybe it was after effects from my hunger last night. I was determined to stay a grump for the whole day but my planned was foiled by several things.

1) A walk/hike with Elisa, Benny and Edie resulted in laughs and got the endorphins going.

2) I discovered the most delicious Larabar flavor yet. It honestly tasted like a cookie. I couldn’t tell the difference.

So freaking good! Nom nom nom.

3) This wonderful tool that helps me get dandelions, those spiky things, and pretty much any type of weed out of the yard. I used it after grocery shopping and I seriously went around the whole yard looking for weeds because it was so fun. Yes, I lead an exciting life.

Got this puppy at a garage sale for about $.50

4) When I got home, the Hub defrosted the whole freezer from the problem we had earlier this week. It looked absolutely gorgeous in there. It was even organized. Saturday he mowed the lawn, cleaned the garage and swept it, and unloaded the dishwasher before I got home from work. LOVE THIS MAN!

After our hike I went grocery shopping. The Hub has me on a less than $100 per week for groceries. Totally doable but I tend to go a little crazy with fancy things. I was under budget today by at least about $20-$25. The meals for this week include–

Breakfast

Berry Chocolate Smoothie

Mango Coconut Smoothie

Banana Bread

Lunch

Shrimp and Pea Salad with Basil

Dinner

Pistachio Chicken

Chicken Parmesan

Turkey Burgers with Chipotle Sweet Potato Fries

Thai Lime Chicken

Since the Hub was so domestic this weekend I made him waffles for breakfast (at 1pm!). Benefit–I get waffles too. 🙂 I used the Bob’s Red Mill mix which I really like. It’s multigrain but not so much that the Hub says, “What is this?”

A big cup of Apple Cinnamon Tea on the side please!

Tonight I made pistachio chicken, a recipe from the Abs Diet Cookbook, which I’ve been meaning to make all week. The Hub was trying to predict the odds of me actually making it this afternoon. It turned out really good but the frozen snap peas I bought (which you steam in a bag) did not look very appetizing. I did eat them and about half tasted good and the other half tasted limp and dead.

Before I made dinner I banged out my lunches for the week. The recipe is one I adapted from a Clean Eating Magazine Recipe.

Shrimp and Pea Salad with Basil

(Makes 5 servings; 1 heaping cup)

  • 1 lb cooked shrimp
  • 4 cups cooked basmati brown rice (recipe called for brown but I improvised)
  • 4 cups cooked peas
  • 1 cup roughly chopped basil
  • 4 tsp lemon zest
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil, divided
  1. Combine cooked shrimp, peas, and rice in large bowl.
  2. Heat 1/2 tablespoon olive oil in pan on medium heat. Mince garlic and brown in pan, about 2 minutes.
  3. Put garlic in large bowl with shrimp mixture.
  4. Add other 1/2 tablespoon of oil. Slice onion and put into pan on medium high heat. Brown, about 5 minutes. Turn heat to low and caramelize onions, stirring often. Cook for about 40 minutes.
  5. Add onion mixture to bowl and basil.
  6. Add lemon zest to bowl along with lemon juice.
  7. Toss and serve!

It’s so delish! I added the garlic to the recipe and caramelized the onions to impart more flavor. I also doubled up on some of the ingredients to make it last the whole week.

I also tossed a banana bread in the oven to eat with my smoothies this week. I adapted this recipe from the Clean Eating Club.

Clean Eating Banana Bread

  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 2 slightly beaten egg whites
  • 1 c. mashed ripe bananas (3 medium or 2 large)
  • 1/2 c. agave nectar
  • 1/4 c. canola oil
  • A pinch of sea salt (1/16 tsp.)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds

Directions:

  1. Coat an 8x4x2-inch loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray and set aside. Mash bananas and set aside. In a medium bowl combine whole wheat pastry flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and sea salt. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl combine egg whites, banana, agave nectar, vanilla extract, chia seeds, and oil. Once mixed well, add flour mixture all at one time to banana mixture. Stir until moistened. The batter should be lumpy. Spoon mixture into pan.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 45 to 50 minutes. Test doneness by inserting a wooden toothpick near the center of the bread. The toothpick should come out clean.
  4. Cool in pan on a wire rack for approximately 10 minutes. Remove bread from pan and cool completely on the wire rack.

I was so pleased with the result. The whole wheat pastry flour makes the bread very light and not so heavy as some baked goods can be with regular whole wheat flour. The chia seeds add a little crunch (and keep you fuller longer!) with the added benefit of those Omegas 3s. The original plan was to add walnuts but I think the chia seeds were a great substitute.

The Hub and I topped off dinner with a new ice cream. I’ve seen this for months and always wanted to buy it. It was finally on sale and I didn’t eat as much as I normally do today, so I figured a treat was in order. 🙂 Next week I have to tone down my treats, but with the hormones back to even levels, this shouldn’t be a problem! I lost one pound this week which is great considering how many “treats” I had.

Off to bed! We have four miles on the agenda in the a.m.

 

6 Responses to “Contest Winner and Meal Planning”

  1. Gregg August 3, 2011 at 2:03 PM #

    Ah yeah! I’m a winner! Although for you, finding that garden tool is definitely a win. I bought a remodeled house with mulch up front and they didn’t put down any landscape fabric underneath the mulch. So, there are lots weeds. I pull them, sometimes just breaking off the tops and they watch them grow until I have to pull them again.

    Thanks again!

    • baybaybites August 3, 2011 at 2:11 PM #

      You do not understand how much I love that tool.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Smoothie Recipe and Other Musings « Bay Bay Bites - August 1, 2011

    […] breaky, I had the smoothie and a piece of my Clean Eating Banana Bread. Lunch was the shrimp salad, chased with some snacks of Planters Energy Mix and grapes with a side […]

  2. Stupid Things I Do « Bay Bay Bites - August 2, 2011

    […] deserved dinner. This morning I had the other half of my Mango Coconut Smoothie and a piece of the Clean Eating Banana Bread. Snacks were Planters Energy Mix and yogurt with blueberries and Erin’s PB granola. And […]

  3. Edie’s Rough Life and Chocolate Berry Smoothie « Bay Bay Bites - August 3, 2011

    […] feel about chocolate in the A.M. I’m going to give it another day. I chased the smoothie with the Clean Eating Banana Bread and some […]

  4. Get Ripped! With Jari Love: Slim & Lean Review and Today’s Workout & Food « Bay Bay Bites - August 17, 2011

    […] since we’re trying to eat everything in the fridge before we go on vacation. I had some leftover Shrimp and Pea Salad with Basil that I had put in the freezer for lunch. Snacks were Trader Joe’s Omega Trail Mix and Fage with […]

Leave a Reply

