Oy! Sugar Rush and Weighing In

25 Jul

So I haven’t eaten any processed sugar it over a week, but today that all changed. There is a certain time in every woman’s life she needs chocolate, and on a not-so-good Monday it becomes an absolute necessity. I ate great all day until about 3:30pm. I broke out a mini bag of M&Ms and a mini Snickers. About a half an hour later the headache started. This is on top of being lethargic from staying up a good portion of the night with a bad tummy, which in turn caused a chain reaction of me not going for a run this morning. Sigh. I guess today is my rest day.

I was looking forward to book club tonight even though I didn’t read the book (oops!). To be fair, I really tried but I already read it once and I couldn’t get into it (Things Fall Apart). Plus, I was consumed with Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin. Have you seen the series on HBO??? If you haven’t, you must; so addicting!

Slowly throughout the day I began getting messages that people couldn’t come to book club. By the end of the day it was down to me and Lindsey. We decided to still meet up at her place and then go shopping. Plus, I had to get some more sugar in the form of a delicious fruit pizza. Cream cheese? Yes please!

We hit the mall for no reason in particular. I used to be somewhat of a shopaholic so I’m really careful what I buy now. I try on clothes and I don’t buy anything. Yes, I know that sounds a little silly but I’ve read many an article that says it’s the thrill of the find and your satisfaction actually goes down after you buy it. If I’m still thinking about the item a few days after, I’ll go back. Plus, the hub needs some new work shirts so we’ll be going back there sooner or later. However, I did find a globe for the hub. I was given free rein to decorate however I like in a majority of the house (except for the man cave, which is a whole different story) but the hub had one request–a globe. But it had to have a certain look and be a certain size. We’ve been looking all over for one. I was telling Lindsey about it while looking at a cute little owl figurine (which I bought, because my one request was an owl) and as soon as the words were out of my mouth she said, “Turn around!” I found the perfect globe at Kohl’s for the perfect price. I left a happy camper.

After getting home, Edie decided the globe looked like a really fun ball (she’s obsessed with balls). To distract her, we threw the wrapping paper at her. And it was like Christmas.

As far as weight loss, I’m staying on track. I lost two pounds last week! I know that doesn’t sound like a lot and it’s certainly not on par with Biggest Loser proportions, but it’s right where I want to be. The last time I lost weight quickly was when I got divorced, but I wasn’t eating and ran every day. When I started eating again the weight came right back on. Also, this isn’t so much a diet as a life style change. I’m trying to find balance between the “good” and the “bad”. I like that I can have a little sugar and remind myself why I don’t eat it everyday (hello, migraine!).

Long day tomorrow starting at 5:30am and I’m not getting home from work until 6:30pm. Bed time for me!

 

P.S. Since when did jean vests come back??? That are bedazzled??? Really??

 

Did you ever wear one of these?

Yes, yes I did and I also had permed my hair…Even though it’s naturally curly. I had a poodle on top of my head.

 

2 Responses to “Oy! Sugar Rush and Weighing In”

  1. Carrie July 26, 2011 at 4:05 PM #

    Hey girl! Congrats on your progress 🙂 That fruit pizza looks delicious! Is it on a sugar cookie?? yum!

    • baybaybites July 26, 2011 at 5:09 PM #

      It was like a sugar cookie but it had some almond extract in there. I’ll have to ask my friend how she made it!

Leave a Reply

