Blogs I’m Digging and Inspiration

21 Jul

There are several reasons I started a blog and since today was primarily leftovers and I stuck to my scheduled four mile tempo run, I thought I would devote a post to this topic.

  1. I am an avid reader and used to write a lot when I was younger. I actually majored in English Literature in college and thought about writing as a career, but my skin isn’t thick enough.
  2. I am infamous (well, in my opinion!) for starting something and not following through. I don’t know how many times I’ve started a workout regime or diet and not carried it through. I knew the blog would hold me accountable. When I had a goal of running my first half marathon for my 30th birthday, I let as many people know as possible because I couldn’t let them down. Blogging will be like that.
  3. Inspiration! There are so many real people out there who inspire me on a daily basis. Yeah, you can look up to celebrities, but that’s unrealistic and sets you up for failure. I like seeing real people and hearing real stories. I saw Krista’s blog link on the MSN website and I thought, “That’s a great idea!” Also, a good friend of mine has a blog that is about her journey towards a figure competition, which I loved to read (more about her later).

Here are some of the blogs that I subscribe to and read daily. Hopefully they’ll inspire you too!

Last but not least, Lelia. I met Lelia on a crazy night on New Year’s Eve in 2010 and instantly knew I liked her. Even though I’m 30, I do occasionally make mistakes, as I did that night by drinking too much (I generally don’t drink very much and have a very low tolerance to alcohol–two strong mixed drinks did me in). The Hub teased me the next day since I followed her around like a lost puppy and told her she would be a bridesmaid in my wedding (which is funny because 1-we weren’t even engaged yet and 2-we didn’t have a formal wedding and were already planning not to). He coined the term Bestie and it’s stuck.

Lelia is a huge inspiration to me. She is a confident, strong, and smart woman. She is training for her first figure show and is doing a great job. I’m so proud of her! But at the same time she is human. She will cave on her food at times and have a meltdown but she gets right back in the saddle. This gal knows so much about food, nutrition, and working out. I’m glad she’s always a phone call or e-mail away if I need help, need a routine, or need someone to talk when things aren’t working out.

Bach Party Shenanigans

Hot damn girl!

Who inspires you?

4 Responses to “Blogs I’m Digging and Inspiration”

  1. Marsha July 22, 2011 at 1:40 PM #

    My daughter inspires me. She’s a great cook, writer, pet caretaker, and she takes good care of herself.

    • baybaybites July 22, 2011 at 1:53 PM #

      Oh mom.

  2. Cait's Plate July 25, 2011 at 10:41 AM #

    Aw yay!! Thank you for the link love πŸ™‚ Your blog is awesome as well! I think I’m inspired by different things on a daily basis – it all depends on the mood I’m in πŸ™‚

    • baybaybites July 25, 2011 at 11:14 AM #

      Thank you too! Every time I read your blog I get hungry. πŸ™‚ Everything always looks so yummy.

Leave a Reply

