Meal Planning…ugh

18 Jul

Today is Sunday, meaning it’s meal planning day and grocery shopping. For a person who loves food, you would imagine this would be a good thing for me. Well, it would be if it wasn’t for the Hub. My husband is a picky eater. Right now I’m sure your thinking, “Aren’t they all”, but I’m telling you, he is the pickiest eater I ever met. Think five year old. When our relationship was purely platonic, a group of us at work had him make a list of things he did eat because it would be shorter than what he doesn’t eat. Here is an example:

  • Candy
  • Chips
  • Slurpees
  • Meat
  • French fries (but no other form of potato)
  • Fresh Express Caesar Salad (and that is the ONLY vegetable he will eat except for tomato sauce and snap peas)
  • Grapes, strawberries, blueberries

I also have a few food restrictions. I don’t drink milk but I do eat cheese and yogurt. I’m also a cutetarian. This is a term my friend’s husband coined for me after I told him my philosophy. I don’t eat animals that I think are cute. And there go the eye rolls! 🙂 I have a huge heart for animals and would take in a billion of them if I had the room. I used to be a vegetarian (for about 3 years, ending about 8 years ago), but I would get really tired. So I started eating fish, and a little later I added chicken and turkey. I pretty much don’t eat anything that has four legs.

So accommodating all of these needs can be a little difficult. I usually make a chicken or turkey dish without vegetables incorporated, or I put the veggies in after.

These are the items I picked up today for the week. I’m really excited!

I also made a yummy salad for lunch everyday this week. Cooking Light has some great recipes and is a great go-to place if you need a recipe in a hurry. Plus, I would pretty much eat anything with goat cheese. 🙂

And the finished product.

The only thing left to plan for my week is exercise. I have a half marathon coming up in September (my third) so I do have to bump up my training. My first two halfs I used Hal Higdon’s training schedule which worked great. This time I’m using Runner’s World Smart Coach. It’s great tool and I highly recommend it if you want to focus on improving your times.

I will be running three days a week on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday. On Tuesday and Thursday I will be riding my spin bike (or doing Insanity with the Hub) and lifting weights. Friday I will rest (minus walking the dog), and Sunday I will take a hike/walk and do some yoga.

Let the week begin!

Do your plan your meals? What obstacles do you run into?

Leave a Reply

