Is it Friday yet?

18 Jul

Mondays are pretty busy at banks (I work as an assistant manager), and this Monday was out of control. One of my employees was on vacation and another called in sick. That’s when my manager and I pull out the teller drawers and help the line. It’s nice because it makes the day go fast but we have to do our normal jobs on top of it. Let’s just say that after a day like today I would normally be drinking a glass or two of wine and grabbing dinner at a restaurant.

However, since I’ve committed myself to health and fitness this was not an option. 🙂

Today, Edie and I went for a run. She always gets super excited when she gets to train with her mom.

One thing Edie does not like and that I don’t do well either, is pacing myself. According to my Runner’s World magazine Smart Coach my scheduled run was 2 miles at 11:40. Well…I ran it a little faster. 🙂 It’s actually pretty good for my pacing. I’m working on it!

After my run I had a hard-boiled egg and a yummy smoothie. I would share the recipe but it’s not mine. I got it from Clean Eating magazine and I wasn’t able to find a link. It has green tea, protein powder, cucumber, spinach, honeydew melon and ginger. Yum! One thing I try to make sure to include in my breakfast is a few veggies. It’s so easy to throw a handle of spinach in your smoothie without even tasting it. And you already have a serving of veggies!

For dinner the Hub made turkey burgers on the Foreman, and we added low-fat cheddar cheese from Trader Joe’s. I made a side of Bulgur with Garlic Veggies. This is my recipe (very rudimentary, I know), but I think it was pretty tasty.

Bulgur with Garlic Veggies

1/2 cup bulgur

1 cup water

one half red bell pepper, coarsely chopped

one half green pepper, coarsely chopped

one summer squash, coarsely chopped

one teaspoon garlic extra virgin olive oil

one teaspoon fresh basil, chopped

two green onion stalks (?), finely chopped with some green parts

1) Bring one cup water to a boil. Put in the bulgur, stir, bring back to a boil, cover and simmer for 12-15 minutes.

2) Heat one teaspoon garlic olive oil at medium heat in a 10′ fry pan.

3) When oil is hot put in peppers; sauté for 3 minutes.

4) Put the summer squash into the fry pan with the peppers. Cook all together for an additional 2-3 minutes.

5) Combine all in a bowl and mix. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Really yummy! If you really like garlic you can add a little more oil but it’s pretty strong. Also, you could just brush the veggies and grill them. I was considering doing that but since we didn’t heat up the big grill for burgers, I gave it up. 🙂 After an extra long day a work, the sooner the food comes, the better!

I had a snack of cottage cheese with grapes and was going to have a snack of Fage with strawberries but a co-worker brought me a soy chai. Normally I wouldn’t drink that when I’m watching my weight because of the sugar content, but it helped me get through the day.

It’s way past my bedtime since I’m getting up at 5:30 to walk the pup, do some Spin, and do a Kettlebell workout all before work. Whew!

Time for bed!

4 Responses to “Is it Friday yet?”

  1. leliasnewbody July 19, 2011 at 5:25 PM #

    loving this blog!!! keep it up 🙂

  2. leliasnewbody July 19, 2011 at 5:27 PM #

    what is the difference between a “reply” and a “comment” ? is the reply to the comment? yes, this wordpress thingy is quite tricky!!!! 😀

    • baybaybites July 19, 2011 at 6:57 PM #

      I don’t know! I think it’s the same thing. Let me check my WordPress for Idiots and I’ll get back to you. Ha ha!

  3. Deb July 19, 2011 at 9:34 PM #

    The box above says Leave a Reply and in the box there are grayed out words that say: Enter your comment here.
    Whatever..I’ll leave a comment for my reply.
    This is cool that you have this blog, you have way more energy than I do. Maybe you’ll motivate me enough to get off my butt and start exercising again! It’s been since vaca, broken ankle, hand surgery, long long time..
    Happy weight loss, we’ll all be watching.

Leave a Reply

