So…I’m Pregnant…And Blogging Again

20 Nov
I woke my husband up at 5:30am on a Sunday to tell him I was pregnant. Needless to say, his reaction really wasn’t what I was hoping for. Pretty sure he mumbled something along the lines of, “YAH!” or “That’s great!” I can’t really remember. I just really have no patience, so there was no way I was waiting until he eventually got up around noon to break the news.
I’m due March 19th, 2014, the same month as the birth of my best friend, my mother, my father, and my husband (expensive month). At the time of this writing I’m 16 weeks along. Here’s what I’ve experienced so far–
Workouts–The first trimester, I won’t lie, the workouts were few and far between. I never threw up, but felt like I was hungover pretty much the whole time. I started to alternate running and walking again around 12 weeks, and continued that until week 16. I’ve also been doing prenatal yoga, and barre3. I’ve stopped running purely because it makes my stomach feel uncomfortable. During my pregnancy I’ve made the decision to really listen to my body. When I started getting lower belly pains while running, I decided to stick to walking. If there’s one thing I’ve learned since getting pregnant–everyone and every pregnancy is different.
Food–The first trimester I could only eat carbs. Everything else made me want to vomit, which is strange because I love veggies, smoothies and juicing. The second trimester I began developing heart burn. It did not matter what I ate, how many TUMS I took, what portions I had, etc. On the advice of a friend and my doctor, I started taking papaya enzymes pills. They’ve worked like a charm.
I’ve also realized there is no waiting when it comes to food. The hubs and I went on an early babymoon in Boston and had trouble finding the restaurant in a museum. We went in a door we weren’t supposed to and a guard told us to leave. I asked him if he could at least direct us to the restaurant, and he told us to go back in the main entrance and ask them. When you are pregnant and starving, you do not like when people are rude or inconsiderate. After turning around I started crying. My hubs said, “Oh my God,” and rolled his eyes. Never do this to your pregnant wife, no matter how ridiculous she’s behaving. Tears and angry words streamed out, and museum programs thrown. Needless to say when we found the restaurant, hubs said, “You can have whatever you want!”
Symptoms–I actually haven’t had anything major, just the nausea and heart burn. I’ve had a few small leg cramps and some tummy growing pains, but all around I am very lucky.
Weight–Since I am 5’1, my belly bump is going to be quite prominent. I’ve been asked if I’m having twins, how big I’ll be by the time I give birth, people thinking I’m farther along than I am, etc. I’m trying to just take it all in stride and am comfortable in the fact I’ve gained the right amount of weight so far.
Image
I’m a very organized, scheduled, by-the-book person. I’ve tried to let a lot of this go out the window now that I’m pregnant, because I know babies do not really adhere to any of the above. I’m trying to go with the flow, and not have too many expectations of how things “should” be. I’m cleaning my house less, and relaxing more. I’m taking a lot of me time, since I know it will be limited in the future. My husband is already nesting and picking up so much of the housework. He’s already moving things around the house to make room for baby without me asking.
Image

(Photo Courtesy of MKDaughters Photography)

I just feel so blessed to be on this journey, and I can’t wait to share the rest of our adventure with all of you!

3 Responses to “So…I’m Pregnant…And Blogging Again”

  1. Marsha November 21, 2013 at 8:58 AM #

    Love reading your blog!

  2. Alyse November 21, 2013 at 11:43 AM #

    I’m glad you’re back! I love the baby updates!! FYI: my anniversary is March 20th. I’d be very happy to share it with your little one :)

  3. Mrs. Wink November 24, 2013 at 5:16 PM #

    I agree – never mess with a preggo lady!! I’m 30 weeks and have found that at least once a week I tell Hubby to “Watch It!!” or else my hormones are going to attack! haha
    Good Luck on the Big Adventure of Pregnancy! :)
    – T

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

